Skip to content

The Essence of Model-Fit

September 5, 2011

Ikaika Kahoano, Ikaika Kahoano, Ikaika Kahoano, Ikaika Kahoano, Ikaika Kahoano, Ikaika Kahoano, Ikaika Kahoano, Making the Band, O-Town, LMNT, Green Light Go, Hawaii, Honolulu, Wellness, Fitness, Diet, Exercise, Model-Fit, Sixpack, Abs

So the title of this blog is “The Essence of Model-Fit” which I thought a fitting title after reading this MSN article:

http://fitbie.msn.com/get-fitter/tips/6-extreme-exercise-challenges/tip/0

I came across this article in early August, and I’m happy to get a chance to blog about it.  It is about staying fit anywhere, anytime without the use of conventional weights.  In fact, as I was reading it, I thought to myself, “You know what, this article is the essence of Model-Fit.  It is about staying fit anywhere and adapting your workouts to your present situation.”  For instance, the Model-Fit Anywhere workout, one of my three weighted workouts in the Model-Fit Blueprint, uses only FOUR bodyweight, total body exercises which can be done anywhere without the use of a gym.  It can be done on the road in your room if you are traveling for work or vacation or at home or the park if you don’t have a gym membership.

So as I was reading this article, it made me think of a fine video example of “the essence of Model-Fit” since Model-Fit is a fitness lifestyle that I have pioneered throughout my life, the essence of which, like I said, is staying fit in a balanced way anytime, anywhere.  This video, made in June of ’05, is just one example of how I live what I preach.  The video is me working out doing what I called “girlfriend squats” and “backpack pushups” on a backpacking trip throughout Western Europe during the summer of 2005 which I did twice a week during the monthlong trip.  THIS IS THE ESSENCE OF MODEL-FIT.  You don’t necessarily have to throw someone over your back and squat them, but if you’re on the road, and have a willing partner, and want the extra weight then why not?  But, the point is, you don’t need a gym, you can do creative things squatting other humans if they’re willing, backpack pushups or regular pushups and squats with just your bodyweight.  The Model-Fit Anywhere workout was designed to address the fact that sometimes, we only have our bodyweight to lift so we have to make the most of it.  I wish I had video footage of me doing pushups, bicycle crunches and playing footbag in 2000-2002 when I was on the road with my vocal group LMNT, or footage from some of my field training as an Officer in the military, how I’d do extra pushups, bicycle crunches and high knees after morning physical training was over and everyone left to change for breakfast.  It is just so simple once you get the hang of it.  You go on autopilot.  But, I’m glad that I have at least this video from my backpacking trip across western Europe.  I did this workout in a hallway in our hostel in England.  I did pushups, squats and bicycle crunches twice a week while on this month long trip.  When I got back home to the gym, I hadn’t lost any strength because I had done these exercises and ate clean fuel on the road.   We were staying at a hostel in London when we filmed this video in the stairwell of our hostel.

If you notice in the video, one of the girls walking up the stairs asks the common question for those who don’t “get it” about diet and fitness.  This question being, “Do you do this everyday?”  This is the uneducated, extremist diet and fitness mindset that I am trying to abolish completely from the face of the earth.  The answer to that question is a resounding NO!  If you notice my response to her back in June of 2005 was, “No, only twice a week.”  She also went on to ask, “Do you run?”  My answer to that was “No, I play basketball.”  Why?  Because full court basketball is a fantastic explosive workout that will lean you out like crazy if you go all out sprinting up and down the court, jumping hard for rebounds and playing good defense.  However, basketball causes many serious knee (ACL) and foot/ankle injuries (Achilles) especially as people get older, and they can’t play hard anymore.  Model-Fit is perfect for these people because it provides so many different, fun and challenging options to stay lean for life without injury.  I know.  I created it, and I have 4 disc herniations and had ACL reconstructive surgery in 2009 after tearing my ACL jumping up for a rebound in a basketball game.  I took it upon myself to create and utilize workouts that involve total body exercises that work large muscle groups to keep you chiseled without the risk of injury.

It’s funny for me to look back on this, but I remember the exact day I had achieved true diet and fitness enlightenment and balance in 2004 where all of my undergraduate education and diet and fitness life experience came to fruition in an “Aha!” type moment.  You see, before 2004, I was in great shape, but I was extremely unbalanced.  I was extreme.  I had tried extreme diets and workouts, but none were sustainable so to stay fit, I had to continually look for something new.  But, I remember the day in 2004 where it all just came together for me.  Everything that I had learned in undergrad earning my Biology, pre-med degree and everything that I had learned through my life experiences with diet and fitness staying in shape on the road, going through the stress of using extreme diets and workouts to maintain a sixpack, and thinking back to conversations with enlightened diet and fitness friends and acquatainces about little tips and tricks to stay lean, I remember sitting in my room, and thinking, “It all makes sense now…the key to sixpack abs and staying lean and strong is not extreme diet and fitness…it is BALANCED DIET AND FITNESS.”  From that moment on, I have maintained a sixpack using basic, balanced and natural diet and fitness fundamentals that can be practiced everyday to stay chiseled and strong.  It is so easy once you get it.  The Sixpack Blueprint and Model-Fit DVD explain how easy it is to maintain this diet and fitness balance.  It’s easy because it is as natural and sustainable as breathing.  It is REAL ladies and gentlemen.  With Model-Fit you eat when you are hungry, you eat REAL FOOD and you eat until you are full. Extreme, calorie cutting, bogus shake diets, Paleo Diet or any calorie cutting diet is NOT REAL or SUSTAINABLE.   The Contour “ab sculpting system”, “coolsculpting”, my personal favorite bogus gimmick the Shakeweight, or any other bogus gizmo, or P90x, CrossFit or Insanity which promote overtraining and use harmful non-ubiquitous injury causing exercises, and the list goes on and on with the countless, unbalanced, unintelligent and uneducated products on the market that are designed to prey on people who think they can get fit with some quick fix type product.  WELL, KEEP TRYING AND WHEN YOU HURT YOURSELF OR BURN OUT DUE TO OVERTRAINING, AND YOU’RE READY TO EMPOWER YOURSELF WITH REAL, BALANCED, SUSTAINABLE FITNESS, COME BACK TO MY WEBSITE AND PURCHASE THE SIXPACK BLUEPRINT AND MODEL-FIT DVD.  BUT, ONLY WHEN YOU ARE READY TO EMPOWER YOURSELF ONCE AND FOR ALL WITH REAL DIET AND FITNESS KNOWLEDGE AND STOP FOOLING AROUND WITH BOGUS GIMMICKS AND CALORIE CUTTING CRASH DIETS.

Listen up people…and listen well…GIMMICKS AND CALORIE CUTTING ARE NOT SUSTAINABLE FOR THE LONG TERM.  THE ONLY THING THAT IS SUSTAINABLE IS DIET AND FITNESS BALANCE THROUGH A ROCK SOLID DIET AND FITNESS EDUCATION…THIS IS WHAT THE SIXPACK BLUEPRINT AND MODEL-FIT DVD ARE…A LIFETIME, REAL AND SUSTAINABLE DIET AND FITNESS EDUCATION SO YOU ARE EMPOWERED WITH THE REAL KNOWLEDGE YOU NEED TO LEAD A HEALTHY AND BALANCED DIET AND FITNESS LIFESTYLE THAT WILL KEEP YOU LEAN, STRONG AND SCULPTED FOR LIFE.  DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND EMPOWER YOURSELF WITH THE KNOWLEDGE THAT I HAVE MADE AVAILABLE FOR EVERYONE.  YOU WILL BE HAPPY YOU DID.

The reason I created Model-Fit was because I got tired of answering the questions:  1) How do you workout? and 2)  What do you eat?  Over the past several years, from 2000-the present, I have been asked this question hundreds of times so I decided to make this information available for purchase so I don’t have to waste my time talking, and those who really want to know how I stay lean for life will purchase the product and be very happy that they did.  It is extremely comprehensive and applicable.

I can’t even count the number of times I have been asked the question “Do you do this everyday?” like the girl asks in the video.  In fact, last Thursday, I went for a 2000 meter swim at Ala Moana Beach, and some people in the water asked me that very question right before I began my swim, “Do you swim 2000 meters everyday?”  I said, “No, maybe once a week.  I just lead a balanced diet and fitness lifestyle.  You can’t do the same thing everyday.  Your body will build a tolerance to the workout and you will cease to see results.”  I informed them about Model-Fit then embarked on my 2000 meter journey like Aquaman.

I was put here to help others stumble upon the “AHA!” moment.  It’s not Rocket science folks.  It’s balance that is so easy once you internalize the knowledge and practice the Model-Fit lifestyle.  I can help you find your fitness balance so you NEVER have to ask the question “Do you do this everyday,” and when you get your chiseled, healthy and lean physique, you can quietly smile on the inside and picture me saying, “I told you so,” when people start to ask YOU that question.  Stay Model-Fit!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment